Lochs, Gaelic, Spirits and Scandinavia

So, the current project. Thought I would give a wee update/more information, especially considering what happened the other day. The main character’s name is Lachlan, which I chose kind of at random. I decided I needed a Gaelic name, and Lachlan called out to me.

The other day, I found out something while trying to make sure I was pronouncing it right… Lachlan refers to a faraway place like the Otherworld or Scandinavia. Now, the Otherworld from Celtic mythology has links to the Other, the afterlife in the story I’m working on. So somehow, I managed to choose a name that links to a major factor in the story, without realising. A freaky coincidence, but I’m taking it as a sign that I should keep going with writing this thing.

Lee

Leave a Reply

